Article Source: RAENG

The Africa Prize encourages ambitious and talented sub-Saharan African engineers from all disciplines to apply their skills to develop scalable solutions to local challenges, highlighting the importance of engineering as an enabler of improved quality of life and economic development. Crucial commercialisation support is awarded to a shortlist of innovative applicants through an eight-month period of training and mentoring.

Following this period of mentorship, finalists are invited to present at an event held in Africa and a winner is selected to receive £25,000 along with three runners-up, who are each awarded £10,000.

Interactive tool – explore the shortlists and winners of the Africa Prize from 2015-2019

Meet the 2019 Africa Prize Shortlist

The shortlist for the Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation 2019 has been announced in Cape Town, South Africa, recognising the most promising entrepreneurial engineers from across sub-Saharan Africa. The 16 shortlisted innovations come from six countries, with five female engineers among them.

Press release: Africa Prize recognises the continent’s brightest entrepreneurial engineers

Read more about the 2019 Africa Prize shortlisted innovations

In brief: the 2019 Africa Prize shortlist

Matibabu wins the 2018 Africa Prize

Africa Prize judge Rebecca Enonchong presents Ugandan Brian Gitta of Matibabu with the Africa Prize winner’s medal

A 24-year-old Ugandan software engineer has won the Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation. Brian Gitta is the first Ugandan to win the prestigious Africa Prize, and the youngest winner to date.

Gitta and his team developed Matibabu, a device which tests for malaria without drawing blood. Matibabu, which means ‘medical centre’ in Swahili, is a low-cost, reusable device that clips onto a patient’s finger, requiring no specialist expertise to operate. The results are available within one minute on a mobile phone that is linked to the device.

The team win the first prize of £25,000. At an awards ceremony in Nairobi, Kenya on 13 June 2018, four finalists from across sub-Saharan Africa delivered presentations, before Africa Prize judges and a live audience voted for the most promising engineering innovation.

Press release: Ugandan innovation wins the Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation

The Africa Prize is generously supported by The Shell Centenary Scholarship Fund and the UK Government’s Global Challenges Research Fund.

Historical sponsors have included Consolidated Contractors Company, The Foreign and Commonwealth Office’s Africa Prosperity Fund, ConocoPhillips and the Mo Ibrahim Foundation.

If you would like to know more or are interested in being involved please contact the Africa Prize team at the Royal Academy of Engineering.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s